UCT Springboks celebrate

02 October 2006

Green with envy: UCT Springboks at the 200 Club function were (back row) Nick Mallett, Selbourne Boome, Craig Kleu, Derek van den Berg, Francois Pienaar and Dion O'Cuinneagain; and (front) Dugald MacDonald, HO de Villiers, Cecil Moss, Roy McCallum, Lance Sherell, Paul Delport and Keith Andrews.

It wasn't a sweaty head-to-head scrum, but rather a hearty shoulder-to-shoulder reminiscence and chat on current issues within the rugby community.

Friends and current and former players of the UCT Rugby Club met recently to commemorate and celebrate both the 25-year anniversary of its 200 Club and 100 years of Springbok rugby. At the event were a number of former UCT rugby players who represented South Africa over the past decades. Francois Pienaar, captain of the 1995 World Cup-winning Springbok team, made a winning speech.

But rugby was spoken through the night, with questions fired at the likes of Nick Mallet and Cecil "Doc" Moss, who coached the Springboks in the Naas Botha era.

The 200 Club is made up of former players and friends who contribute to the Rugby Club's coffers and bursary schemes. It currently boasts a membership of around 600.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.