Elections draw to a close

02 October 2006

Democracy, we are told, is government of the people, by the people and for the people.

In keeping with a century of student governance, SRC candidates appealed to their constituencies to vote their way into the next 100 years. With this year's theme song, Who wants to live forever? (Queen), resounding in their minds, students cast their votes, mindful of their mark being etched in UCT history.

The SRC candidates for 2007 are: Keran Boyd, Vincent Chambati, Lusanda Gwayi, Geordin Hill-Lewis, Nathan Kabingesi, Lerato Lamola, Thami Ledwaba, Nolundi Luwaya, Samkelo Mbaligontsi, Bongani Charles Mkhize, Nare Mosomane, Kitso Motswagae, Peter Mogomotsi Mpete, Zuki Mqolomba, Philani Msomi, Memory NL Nyatsanza, Nadia Oshry, Shahnaaz Parker, Christopher Shilubane, Peter Shivute, Simbarashe Mutongwizo, Lee Thaver, Yolanda Tsembeyi, Ken Wang, Dave Watson, Colin Young, Simangaliso Zikhali and Zandile Zondi.

Spurred on by stiff competition and driven by UCT student government positions at stake, these 28 candidates were fed questions for lunch and supper in the customary Q&A sessions between September 18 and 22.

With ballots cast last week, the new SRC will be announced today.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.