Awards for excellence

12 November 2021 Read time >10 min.
<b>Photo</b> UCT.
Photo UCT.

L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science

  • Tsaone Tamuhla (PhD student, computer and information science)
  • Doaa Ali (Department of Chemistry)

FLAIR Fellows

  • Dr Lauren Arendse (Drug Discovery and Development Centre)
  • Dr Rondrotiana Barimalala (Department of Oceanography)
  • Dr Ross Blamey (Department of Oceanography)
  • Dr Felix Sizwe Dube (Department of Molecular and Cell Biology)

NSTF-South32 Awards

  • Associate Professor Abimbola Windapo (Department of Construction Economics)

UCT Fellows

  • Professor Linda-Gail Bekker (Deputy Director of the Desmond Tutu HIV Centre)
  • Professor Haroon Bhorat (Director of the Development Policy Research Unit)
  • Professor Jonathan Blackburn (Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine)
  • Professor Johannes Fagan (Head of the Division of Otorhinolaryngology)
  • Professor Mark Fleishman (Centre for Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies)
  • Professor Landon Myer (Director and Head of the School of Public Health and Family Medicine)

Young Researcher Awards

  • Associate Professor Markus Arnold (Department of French Language and Literature)
  • Dr Susan Cunningham (FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology)
  • Associate Professor Nico Fischer (Department of Chemical Engineering)
  • Dr Itumeleng Monageng (Department of Astronomy)
  • Dr Ryan Nefdt (Department of Philosophy)
  • Dr Elona Toska (Centre for Social Science Research)
  • Dr Christopher Trisos (African Climate and Development Initiative)

African Academy of Sciences

  • Professor Collet Dandara (Department of Pathology)
  • Associate Professor Nicki Tiffin (Wellcome Centre for Infectious Diseases Research in Africa [CIDRI-Africa], the Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Research at the School of Public Health and Family Medicine and the Computational Biology Division in the Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences)
  • Professor Harald Winkler (Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment)

European Research Council Advanced Grant

  • Professor Erwin de Blok (Honorary Professor of Astronomy)

Associate Professor Salome Maswime heads up Global Surgery in the Faculty of Health Sciences
Prof Salome Maswime (Head of Global Surgery) is one of two winners of the WEF Young Scientists Award. Photo Je’nine May.

WEF Young Scientists

  • Dr Sarah Fawcett (Department of Oceanography)
  • Professor Salome Maswime (Head of Global Surgery)

International Communication Association Fellow

  • Professor Herman Wasserman (Centre for Film and Media Studies)

Marsh Award for Climate Change Research (British Ecological Society)

  • Professor Wendy Foden (Honorary Research Associate at the FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology)

Dr Jiska de Groot wins Newton Prize 2020
Dr Jiska de Groot, winner of the Newton Prize. Photo Lerato Maduna.

Newton Prize

  • Dr Jiska de Groot (African Climate and Development Initiative)

Frank J Malina Astronautics Medal

  • Professor Peter Martinez (Honorary Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering)

Royal Society Fellowship

  • Professor Gordon Brown (Adjunct Member of the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine)

The Medicine Maker’s 2020 Power List

  • Professor Kelly Chibale: (Director of the Drug Discovery and Development Centre)

Professor Abdulkader Tayob
Georg Forster Awardee Prof Abdulkader Tayob currently holds the SARChI chair in Islam, African Publics and Religious Values. Photo UCT.

Georg Forster Award

  • Professor Abdulkader Tayob (Department of Religious Studies)


M&G 200 Young South Africans


  • Dr Cosnet Lerato Rametse
  • Kate Lara Solomons
  • James van Duuren
  • Dr Jonathan Macauley
  • Dr Thozama Siyotula
  • Ken Mark Kabongo

Arts and entertainment

  • Phumlani Pikoli
  • Refilwe Nkomo

Business, entrepreneurship and tourism

  • Farirai Sanyika
  • Hope Ditlhakanyane
  • Velani Valentine Mboweni
  • Zizipho Ntobongwana
  • Jaryd Hermann
  • Uzair Essack
  • Adam Duxbury
  • Rajiv Daya

Civil society

  • Ian Mangenga
  • Zanele Melissa Simango
  • Chaeli Mycroft


  • Anza Tshipetane
  • Lehlohonolo Ntlatlapo
  • Wilson Tsakane Mongwe


  • Esethu Cenga
  • Shaakira Chohan

Film and media

  • Nickita Maesela
  • Rutendo Nyamuda

Justice and law

  • Thamsanqa Malusi
  • Thando Gumede
  • Sally Gandar

Science and technology

  • Moagabo Ragoasha
  • Palesa Nombula
  • Tim Mitchell
  • Thapelo Nthite

Fleur du Cap

G7: Okwe-Bokhwe (Like/of a goat)

  • Best director
  • Best performance by an ensemble
  • Best sound design, original music, soundscape or live performance


  • Best new South African script
  • Best new director
  • Best performance in a revue, cabaret or one-person show (Tafara Nyatsanza)

Stan Wheeler Mentorship Award

  • Professor Dee Smythe (Centre for Law and Society)
  • Associate Professor Kelley Moult (Centre of Criminology)

PASS awards

Vice-Chancellor’s awards

Vice-Chancellor’s Global Citizenship Award

  • Ahmien van der Walt (Development and Alumni Department)

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Service Excellence

  • The Centre for Innovation in Learning and Teaching

South African Graduate Employers Association Awards

Best Career Service

  • Careers Service

Times Higher Education’s 10 People of the Year

  • Vice-Chancellor Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng

Toastmasters 2020 Communication and Leadership Achievement Award

  • Vice-Chancellor Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng

Social responsiveness awards

Social Responsiveness Award

  • Dr Rebecca Hodes (AIDS and Society Research Unit)  

Alan Pifer Research Award

  • Professor Elmi Muller (Head of the Division of General Surgery)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.