SRC election season opens

25 April 2017 | Story by Yusuf Omar. Photo by Robyn Walker.
Candidates were grilled in the Frances Ames Room on the medical campus on 19 April, during a week of interrogations.
Candidates were grilled in the Frances Ames Room on the medical campus on 19 April, during a week of interrogations.

With the list of candidates having been released on 12 April, the 2017/2018 UCT Students’ Representative Council (SRC) election season started in earnest on 18 April when the first interrogation of the aspirant student leaders took place.

The 27 candidates were introduced to students in the Molly Blackburn Hall where they presented their manifestos and were quizzed by the electorate. They will undergo similar interrogations at venues around UCT’s campuses and residences until 21 April, giving students a chance to get to know the people who are asking for their vote.

All but four of the candidates represent the Pan-Africanist Student Movement of Azania (PASMA), the Economic Freedom Fighters Student Command (EFFSC) or the South African Students’ Congress (SASCO). The remaining four are independent, with no political affiliation.

For the first time in years, there is no candidate from the Democratic Alliance Student Organisation (DASO), which was one of the dominant forces in UCT SRC elections in the past decade.

The elections are being held now after last year’s planned elections were delayed due to disagreements about the candidate list. The new SRC’s term will be from May/June to 31 October 2017, and all students are eligible to vote.

The candidates

SRC election season opensPutting faces to names.

  1. Thulasizwe Clements (SASCO)
  2. Simone Cornelius (Independent)
  3. Tabile Dlamini (SASCO)
  4. Zuko Fekisi (PASMA)
  5. Sibonise Gcilitshana (EFFSC)
  6. Awonko Goso (EFFSC)
  7. Mosidi Kekana (SASCO)
  8. Modiegi Kgowa (PASMA)
  9. Thebeitsile Longwe (EFFSC)
  10. Sihle Lonzi (EFFSC)
  11. Seabreeze Madadasi (PASMA)
  12. Fezile Maphuthi (SASCO)
  13. Naledi Maponopono (SASCO)
  14. Lethabo Maunye (Independent)
  15. Naledi Mbaba (EFFSC)
  16. Thandani Mlambo (SASCO)
  17. Masixole Mlandu (PASMA)
  18. Minenhle Mngadi (Independent)
  19. Khululwa Mthi (PASMA)
  20. Olwethu Mzayifani (PASMA)
  21. Lukhanyiso Mzimela (Independent)
  22. Phakamani Ntentema (PASMA)
  23. Siyabonga Ntombela (SASCO)
  24. Lindokuhle Patiwe (PASMA)
  25. Nsovo Shandlale (EFFSC)
  26. Sinawo Thambo (EFFSC)
  27. Seipati Tshabalala (EFFSC)

Keep up to date by following the UCT SRC Elections page on Twitter:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.