GSB gives graduates a glittering send off

18 June 2009 | Story by Newsroom

Lewis PughRenowned Arctic swimmer Lewis Pugh delivered the key note address at the GSB's prize-giving ceremony to recognise staff and students who have excelled in teaching and in their studies.

UCT's Graduate School of Business (GSB) celebrated another successful academic year with a prize-giving ceremony held on 11 June to recognise staff and students who have excelled in teaching and in their studies.

The gala event kicked-off with 10 Old Mutual Gold Medal Awards presented to MBA graduates Neil Courtney-Clarke, Dash Douglas, Heidi Le Suer, Rolf Lutge, Michelle Moodley, Belisa Rodriques, Mark Schamman and Francois van Zyl, as well as to Birgit Andrag and Jocelyn Hathaway, both Executive MBA graduates.

The Executive MBA awards for outstanding achievement went to Yacoob Moosa, who received the Foster-Pedley Floating Trophy, and Andre Basson, who won the Fulton Floating Trophy.

The Student of the Year Award on the Associate in Management (AIM) programme went to Robyn Nefdt, and the Student of the Year Award on the Postgraduate Diploma in Business Administration (PDBA) to David Nsengiyumva. The Management Development Trust's two Oxford Summer School Awards were won by Arthur Niewoudt (AIM) and Colin Majackie (PDBA).

The awards for excellence on the Corporate Learning programmes were given to Paulette Higgs, William Mwanza, Errol Ninow and Renee Swann.

Teacher of the Year Awards on the Open Academic Programmes went to Mark Graham (full-time MBA), Barry Standish (modular MBA), Jimmy Winfield (PDBA), and to Kurt April and Chris Breen (both AIM).

Renowned Arctic swimmer Lewis Pugh (in picture) delivered the key note address.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.