UCT honours loyal staff

07 October 2008 | Story by Myolisi Gophe

long service awardees
Long servants: DVC Prof Thandabantu Nhlapo (left) and VC Dr Max Price (far right) flank staff members who have finished 35 years of service at UCT, Fred Neville Scotchman, Harold Goerge Stuurman, Robert Samuels, Guy Anthony Murcott, Jan Ross, Noel William Hendricks, and Edward Lawrence.

UCT staff members who "epitomise loyalty, steadfastness and commitment" were honoured during the 2008 Long Service Awards ceremony on 2 October.

Seven had finished 35 years, while a significant number had been at UCT for 25 and 15 years. They were all saluted and presented with certificates and gifts.

Vice-Chancellor Dr Max Price said the university appreciated the continued commitment of people who give form and shape to UCT's vision and mission. "You helped to carry UCT's proud name and image throughout the years."

Turning to the 35-year awardees, Price said their contributions would be there for future generations.

Khotso Raphoto, executive director for human resources management, reminded the awardees and their spouses that in 1973, when Richard Luyt was Vice-Chancellor, there were 8 000 students, and there were no cellphones, televisions or Microsoft.

"I wonder how the VC communicated with staff then."

Ten years later, the number of students had grown to 12 000, and in 1993 increased to 14 500.

"Well done, and pass on the message that everybody should stay on and contribute to UCT," he told the awardees.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.