Three A-rated researchers honoured

04 September 2007 | Story by Daniella Pollock

Professor David Schalkwyk, flanked by Department of Science and Technology Minister Mosibudi Mangena (left) and NRF President and CEO Professor Mzamo P Mangaliso, recieved a NRF President's Award recently.

Three UCT scholars were among 19 top researchers honoured by the National Research Foundation (NRF) at its President's Awards, held in Pretoria on 30 August.

Categories for the awards were A-rated researchers and P-rated researchers, as well as a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Professor George Ekama of the Department of Civil Engineering, Professor Hans-Peter Kunzi of the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics and Professor David Schalkwyk of the Department of English Language and Literature all received A-ratings from the NRF in 2006.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to former UCT vice-chancellor, Dr Mamphela Ramphele.

The awards, which recognise researchers who have made a significant impact in their field, were presented by NRF president, Professor Mzamo Mangaliso.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.