DVC portfolios finalised

24 April 2003

Dr Benito Khotseng

With the appointment earlier this year of Dr Benito Khotseng as UCT's fourth Deputy Vice-Chancellor, the University's executive team has been completed. The various portfolio responsibilities, key reporting relationships and main committee responsibilities were outlined at a recent Council meeting. The details have been summarised below.

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Njabulo Ndebele

The VC is accountable for the strategic leadership of the University and for its management. He also has overall responsibility for the institution's performance, both internally and externally. He is expected to pay special attention to relationship building, both inside and outside UCT, to relationships with community and government and to fund-raising. The DVCs, the Registrar and the Executive Director of Finance all report to the VC. The VC chairs Senate, the Senate Executive Committee, the University Strategy Committee, the VC's Management Advisory Group (VCMAG), the University Human Resources Committee, the Fundraising Projects Committee and the Risk Management Committee.

DVC, Professor Martin West

West directly supports the VC in managing and co-ordinating the University's academic and administrative systems and in this role, he is senior to the other DVCs. He will also act for the VC in periods of extended absence. He also works closely with the VC to give operational effect to the VC's strategic leadership. He oversees both faculty matters (including academic staff management and the line management of the deans) as well as the University's libraries. In addition, he is responsible for UCT's operational management and co-ordinates the Office of the Vice-Chancellor. The faculty deans, the Director of the GSB, the Executive Directors of Libraries and Human Resources, and the Project Manager and Office Manager of the Office of the Vice-Chancellor all report to him. West chairs the Operations Management Advisory Groups (OPS MAG), the Admissions Committee, the University Ad Hominem Promotions Committee, the Nominations Committee and the Fellowships Committee. Generally, he will act as Deputy Chair of committees chaired by the VC.

DVC, Associate Professor Cheryl de la Rey

De la Rey's core responsibilities lie in research and innovation. She also oversees postgraduate student matters as well as the University's relationships with the health authorities. Part of her brief is to co-ordinate UCT's transformation initiatives. The Directors of Research and Innovation and the Transformation Manager report to her. De la Rey chairs the University Research Committee, the Doctoral Degrees Board, the Board for Graduate Studies, the Scholarships Committee, the Visiting Scholar's Fund and the Postgraduate Student Funding Committee. She is also a co-chair of the Institutional Forum.

DVC, Professor Martin Hall

Hall's main responsibilities are planning and budgeting. He has executive responsibility for academic planning and oversees Quality Assurance. He also monitors developments in higher education policy and is the University's Trustee on the Cape Higher Education Consortium. He assists the Vice-Chancellor and has executive responsibility in development and fund-raising. Hall oversees information and communication technology. The Director of Planning and the Executive Directors of Communication and Development and Information and Communication Technology report to him. Hall chairs the Planning and Budgeting Working Group, the Distinguished Teachers Award Group, the Examination and Assessment Committee and the University ICT Committee.

DVC, Dr Benito Khotseng

Not only does Khotseng have overall responsibility for the student portfolio, he also oversees academic external relations. In his charge are the International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO) and the University's HIV/AIDS initiatives. The Dean of Students and the Director of IAPO report to him. He chairs the Student Development and Services Committee, the Financial Aid Committee, the All Africa House Management Committee, the SHAWCO Board and the HIV/AIDS Working Group.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.