New SRC leaders take up mantle

21 October 2002
THE newly-elected Student Representative Council (2002–03) gathered for lunch at Welgelegen recently to meet the Vice-Chancellor Professor Njabulo Ndebele and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (in charge of the student portfolio) Professor Martin West, as well as Dean of Students Dr Loveness Kaunda.

The SRC Executive, which was announced earlier, includes: Thabiso Monyatsi (President), Mbali Vilakazi (Deputy President), Sean Kirsten (Treasurer), Tauriq Jenkins (Academic Life Officer) Luleka Mafenuka (Secretary General), and Keabetswe Molala (Student Life Officer).

Speaking at the lunch-time function, the Vice-Chancellor congratulated the incumbents and said he had been particularly pleased with the election, which drew the highest poll ever. “You carry a substantial mandate,” he said. “This is also good as far as the country is concerned as students are beginning to participate in the democratic process, which is expected of all of us in building a vibrant democracy.”

While discussing student governance, the Student Parliament Management Committee (SPMC) held their elections on October 10 and elected Fikile Dube (Speaker), Mihlali Gqada (Deputy Speaker), Mandlakazi Motsoaledi (Deputy Convenor), Wane Msiska (Administrator) and SRC President Thabiso Monyatsi (Convenor).

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please view the republishing articles page for more information.