UNIVERSITY OF CAPE TOWN



STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING

MINUTE

Date: Friday, 8 December 2017

Venue: Mafeje Room, Bremner

Time: 16h15-18h30

Committee Membership

Council (Chair): Sipho Pityana and Debbie Budlender

SRC: Karabo Khakhau and Tami Jackson

ShackvilleTRC: Simon Rakei, Sinoxolo Boyi, Sinawo Thambo, Lindokuhle Patiwe

Other Student Formations: Thembelihle Ncayiyana and Mlingani Matiwane

Deans: Penelope Andrews and Mills Soko

Senate: Nicola Illing and Jeremy Seekings

Academic Union (AU): Maanda Mulaudzi and Catherine Hutchings

HoDs: Hussein Suleman and Eric Van Steen

Black Academic Caucus (BAC): Khwezi Mkhize and Shadreck Chirikure

EDs: Russell Ally and position yet to be filled

Alumni: Nombulelo Magula Lorna Houston

Pass Forum: Sonwabo Ngcelwane and Edwina Brooks

Employees Union (EU): Andrea Plos and Samuel Chetty

NEHAWU: Lindikhaya Payiya and Noluthando Pawulina

Non-Recognised Unions: Portia Nyalela and Linda Maqasha

Executive: Max Price (VC) and Loretta Feris (DVC Transformation)

Committee Attendance:

a) Attendees

Sipho Pityana (Council, Chair)

Debbie Budlender (Council)

Max Price (Executive)

Loretta Feris (Exec)

Nicola Illing (Senate)

Lorna Houston (Alumni)

Karabo Khakhau (SRC)

Eric Van Steen (HoDs)

Tami Jackson (SRC)

Khwezi Mkhize (BAC)

Andrea Plos (EU)

Russell Ally (ED)

Sinoxolo Boyi (Shackville TRC)

Lindokuhle Patiwe (Shackville TRC)

Samuel Chetty (EU)

Sonwabo Ngcelwane (Pass Forum)

Thando Tsotsobe (Guest)

b) Apologies

Maanda Mulaudzi (AU) Bulie Magula (Alumni) Jeremy Seekings (Senate) Milford Soko Hussein Suleman (HoDs Catherine Hutchings (AU) Edwina Brooks (Pass Forum) Penelope Andrews (Deans) Linda Maqasha (Non-recognised unions) Thembelihle Ncayiyana – (Other Student Formations)

c) Absent

Simon Rakei (Shackville TRC)

Portia Nyalela (Non-recognised unions)

Lindikhaya Payiya (Nehawu)

Noluthando Pawulina (Nehawu)

Shadreck Chirikure (BAC) – (BAC advised that its membership is under consideration)

Mlingani Matiwane (Other Student Formations)

Sinawo Tambo

1. Welcome and apologies

The chair welcomed members to the meeting and apologies were noted.

2. Approval of the minute of 31 October 2017

Dr Price proposed the approval of the minute of 31 October 2017 which was seconded by Prof Illing. The minute was adopted.

3. Union representation on the IRTC Steering Committee – T. Tsotsobe

The IRTC Steering Committee noted the names of two representatives put forward by UAWU to serve on the IRTC Steering Committee.

Mr Tsotsobe reported that the union landscape at UCT had shifted. Although Nehawu was the only union with full recognition rights the Council had decided that all four unions representing pay-classes 2-6 should be engaged as one bargaining unit.

Dr Price clarified that the IRTC Steering Committee operated on the principle of representivity of all staff and student bodies. All other staff were represented through the AU, EU and pay-classes 2-6 were currently represented by NEHAWU and Non-Recognised Unions.

Mr Tsotsobe further clarified that as at end of November 2017 the EU had 1110, AU 625, Nehawu 560, Salipswu 530, UAWU 300 and DTAWU 55 members.

It was agreed that the four unions representing pay-classes 2-6 should elect two representatives (one of whom would be the alternate) to sit on the IRTC Steering Committee. The current membership would apply until the matter of representivity was finalised.

4. Selection of Commissioners to recommend to Council for approval

Professor Feris updated the IRTC Steering Committee on the on-line election results. She noted that there had now been full participation from all sixteen constituencies. Mr Sinoxolo Boyi advised that the Shackville TRC vote was also the proxy for Other Student Formations.

The IRTC Steering Committee weighed the following factors in considering the composition of the team of five commissioners to be recommended to Council:

- IRTC Steering Committee criteria for the selection commissioners
- Diversity and relevance of the combined skills set
- Diversity of 'race and gender' including LGBQTI orientations
- Composite of relevant experience
- Range of diverse experiences in arenas including political sphere, educational, government and so forth
- Alternate recommendations were agreed on for the various proposed commissioners so as maintain balance in respect of the above whilst adjusting for availability.

The following names were agreed to be recommended to Council:

Proposed commissioners	Alternates if proposed were not available
Ms Yasmin Sooka	
Dr Yvette Abrahams	
Justice Zak Yacoob	Advocate Vasu Gounden; Advocate Dumisa Ntsebeza
Dr Malose Langa	Ms Nomfundo Mogapi
Mr Mosibudi Mangena	Prof. Itumeleng Mosala

The meeting closed at 6:30pm.

Approved:.....(Chair)

Date:....