UCT HISTORY: THE WAY IT WAS IN 1982, 1992 AND 2002

198

- Student enrolment was approaching 12,000.
 Only 13.2% of students were black.
- Dr Stuart Saunders was the Vice-Chancellor.
- UCT purchased the Glendower Hotel and Kilindini Residential Hotel for student accommodation.
- At the request of students, UCT's laundry closed and washing machines were installed in the residences.
- CAGL (Comparative African Government and Law) and Political Science merged to form the Department of Political Studies.
- The UCT Yacht Club entered a yacht, "Italtile" in the Cape to Uruguay Yacht Race and came fourth.
- UCT Library circulation went electronic, doing away with pocket cards and having to file masses of issue slips.
- The Devil's Peak restaurant opened at the Medical School. You could get the meal of the day for R1.95.
- The Rugby Football Club celebrated its centenary.
- There were highs and lows for UCT alumni:
 Dr Aaron Klug was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry and Dr Neil Aggett died in detention.
- Prof Jenny Jarvis acquired a new instrument for tattooing of her naked mole rats. As this required some practice, it was advertised that human volunteers were required. A choice of four colours was available, but it was requested that lettering be kept to a minimum.

1992

- Student enrolment was about 14,500. Just over 31% of students were black and 69% white. 42% of first-year students were black.
- Dr Stuart Saunders was the Vice-Chancellor.
- The Jammie Shuttle (in its minibus form) was introduced, at 20c a ride.
- · The UCT Press was established.
- The Faculty of Commerce developed four new postgraduate diplomas in management and economics.
- A certificate course in Housing and Community Development was established aimed at equipping low-income communities with skills regarding the development of their areas.
- A new Chair in Plant Conservation was established in the Department of Botany following an endowment and Professor Richard Cowling took up the Chair.

1992

- The Faculty of Education moved from Upper to Middle Campus.
- The Breakwater Campus was officially opened when the Graduate School of Business moved there.
- UCT was the first South African university to institute a formal comprehensive recycling scheme on campus. Glass, paper, plastic and metal were collected for recycling.

2002

- Student enrolment was almost 20,000. 48% of the overall number of students were black, and 57% of first-years were black.
- Professor Njabulo S Ndebele was Vice-Chancellor.
- Senior Vice-Chancellor Professor Wieland Gevers retired and became interim Director of UCT's new Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine.
- New Deputy Vice-Chancellors Associate Professor Cheryl de la Rey, Professor Martin Hall and Dr Benito Khotseng joined Professor Marin West on the executive team.
- The UCT private academic hospital was launched as public-private partnership.
- The Health Sciences Faculty renewed its commitment to transformation by adopting a new charter at an historic Special Faculty Assembly after a 10-month process of introspection.
- Two large building projects started with the construction of a new Chemical Engineering Building on North Lane, and facilities for the Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine on the Health Sciences campus.
- The total number of researchers rated by the National Research Foundation stood at 197, with UCT having the highest number of A-rated researchers (14). In this year the following researchers received A ratings: Professors Igor Barashenkov, John de Gruchy, John Higgins and Distinguished Professor Philippe-Joseph Salazar.
- Professor John Higgins of the Department of English Language and Literature and Professor Les Underhill, Director of the Avian Demography Unit. were named UCT Fellows.
- UCT Canoe Club member Bronwen Richardson won a gold medal in the Berg River Marathon.



PRESENTATION LUNCH 2017





PROGRAMME

Pre-drinks on arrival

Introduction: Mr Royston Pillay

Welcome: Dr Max Price

Starter served

UCT past and present history by Mr Royston Pillay

15 YEARS AWARDS PRESENTATION (2016)

Musical Performance by Jazz Between Friends

Main Course served

15 YEARS AWARDS PRESENTATION (2017) 25 YEARS AWARDS PRESENTATION 35 YEARS AWARDS PRESENTATION

Musical performance by Jazz Between Friends

Vote of Thanks: Mr Royston Pillay

Dessert & coffee served

Programme Director: Mr Royston Pillay

Events Coordinator: Rosina van de Rheede

Administrative Assistant: Megan White

Caterer: dish food & social



AWARDEES

$15_{(2016)}$

Rochelle Arendse Andre Carstens Elizabeth Florence De Vos Simpiwe Christopher Doyi Nopinki Duba Dunyiswa Dyantyi Rolan Vicalli Eckhardt Nombathi Gloria Fani Xolile Samuel Funda Boniswa Gcakata Audrey Elizabeth Groenewaldt Nosipho Hastig Denise Susan Jafta Nomfundo Dorothea Kova Leonie Antonette Mabie Nonkumbulo Euphinia Magazi Mncedi Magwevana Svlvia Nomonde Mahomba Dawid Maletta Anthea Manuel Nokuzola Matsika Michael Matubatuba Nomabhelu Beauty Memani Shirene Meyer Nonzuzo Mtitshana Cyril Sithembiso Mvinjelwa Nandipha Shirley Naki Nobomvu Veronica Nameka Nomakhaya Felicia Ncaphayi Zelda Newman Vuyiswa Esther Ngayi Reuben Siviwe Ntaba Elizabeth Glenda Pope Archie Salfire Moreetsi Emmanuel Shuping Nompumelelo Sishuba Nonceba Olga Sithole Anthony Alfred Smith Monica Zameka Sobuza Morne Denver Speelman Sindezama Alfred Tiki Patrick Vava Elliot Vellem Jongisizwe Vinkqishe Sebastian Jerome Weaver Masimphiwe Wenzi Ann Sophia Witbooi Siphiwo Johnson Xaba Mynah Zacharias Phila Pagget Zazi

Lungile Zono

$15_{(2017)}$

Faried Abbass

Jason Abrahams

Cecelia Abrahams

Rhahamodien Allie Penny Baartman Roslynn Baatjies Nawaal Boolay Juanita Booth Michael Mzwakhe Bova Fozia Brown Rukshana Champion Lyndon Chavda **Graham Christians** Deon Coetzee Nuroonnisha Davids Stephen Davids Marwou de Kock Nonkosi Patricia Dingiswayo Nkosinati Matthews Dondolo Beaulah Nobafundi Dondolo Felicia Thandeka Dvantvi Mbulelo Dyasi Nonnie Falala Desray Ferhelst Alan Lemuel Florence Dianne Fransman Helena George Aubrey Gerbach Martin Gewelaar Lungile Goodman Gqeba Andre Alan Hahn Fazlin Harribi Michael Harris Dawood Hattas **Garth Hector** Keith Jacobs Joseph Jacobs Koos Janse Leticia Diana January Marlene Joubert Andile Kawana Malusi Kese Jennifer Kleinsmith Carol Ann Koonin Nashly Langenhoven Naomi Lenders Hayley Leslie Enver Monseur Maans Gertrude Mabele Lulama Gladvs Mancoko Xolile Patrick Magasha Soldier Maraule Nopasika Eunice Mbinda Marvin Mellem Mark Miller Siyabulela Mini Nicole Moodley

Isabel Ncube Petros Ndlela Pierre Neethling Mxolisi Nyaniso Morne Oosthuizen Fajwa Opperman Hendrik Peters Michael Petersen Nadine Platelle Vincent Makhi Rala Eileen Scheepers Johannes Kgotliso Sibuku Thomas Slingsby John Donald Henry Smith Shanaaz Solomons Paul Steenkamp Faiza Steffenson Jackie Stoffels Sharon Stuart Koleka Takani Elhaam Taladia Salega Tape Mark Theron Nkosoxolo Patrick Tobi Sivuyile Tose Salegga Valley Rosina Van De Rheede Karen Van Heerden Rachel Van Wyk Gladys Vongwe Sharon Wakefield Elveno Witbooi

25

Sharon Barnard
Karen Bergsma
Kira Chernotsky
Roshan Ebrahim
Debbie Erasmus
Charles Nicholas
Julia Novella
Kerwin Ontong
Nalini Parsotam
Mary Shelton
Russell Smith
Ebrenza Solomons
Mignon Van Der Merwe

35

Desmond Barnes Linda Hartman Ethelreda Lakay Wilson Pieterse Johnathan Williams