ALAN PIFER AWARDS - TIMELINE



1993

Jonathan Myers For research into the burgeoning field of occupational health and safety



George EkamaFor providing innovative

solutions to enhancing and improving wastewater treatment





1996

Leslie London For research into farm workers' exposure to hazardous chemicals



Farieda Khan

For her work at the Environmental Advisory Unit, providing environmental advice to poor communities





1998

Lynette Denny
For research on
preventing cervical
cancer and developing
alternative methods of
screening for use in lowresource settings



2004

David Chidester
For social research
that has demonstrated
relevance to the
advancement and
welfare of South Africa's
disadvantaged people



Haroon Bhorat and Murray Leibbrandt

For introducing to South Africa frontier techniques for measuring poverty, inequality and labour market outcomes, and for evaluating antipoverty policy





2001

Sandra Burman
For pioneering work
in establishing the
field of socio-legal
research, particularly
children's rights



Nicoli Nattrass and Jeremy Seekings For historical research

For historical research explaining poverty and inequality in South Africa





1999

John Parkington For the Clanwilliam Living Landscapes Project



2005

Alan Flisher For research in adolescent mental health, particularly in the advancement and welfare of South Africa's most disadvantaged young people

2006

Timm Hoffman
For research on
sustainable livelihoods
and ecological
awareness leading to
the social and economic
upliftment of rural
communities



8/

2007

Project

Mark Fleishman and Pippa Skotness For the Clanwilliam Art and Performance 2008 Rai Ramesar

For genetic research and development of a preventive surveillance programme for colorectal cancers in underprivileged





2009

Dan Stein
For research on
psychiatric disorders
and his role in the
first nationally
representative
epidemiological study
of mental illness in
South Africa



2014

Linda-Gail Bekker and Robin Wood

For welfare-related research in communitybased HIV treatment and innovative HIV prevention work



Crick Lund

For his contribution to public mental health in low- and middleincome countries





2012

Eric Bateman
For welfare-related
research in combating
TB and improving
primary health care

2011

Kelly Chibale

For drug development on the African continent





2010

Susan Parnell

For urban management to combat poverty at the city level