# **UNIVERSITY OF CAPE TOWN**



## **COLLEGE OF FELLOWS**

## **Administrative Offices**

Room 206 Bremner Building Lovers Walk Rondebosch, 7701/ Private Bag X3, Rondebosch, 7700 Telephone: (021) 650 7230 Email: <u>Alice.Wamundiya@uct.ac.za</u>

6 October 2021

### UCT COLLEGE OF FELLOWS STATEMENT ON COVID-19 VACCINATION

The UCT College of Fellows is a distinguished body of world class Professors, consisting of over 90 Fellows representing more than 40 academic disciplines in which they have individually excelled. Fellowships of the University of Cape Town are awarded to members of the permanent academic staff in recognition of original, distinguished academic work that merits special recognition (<u>https://www.uct.ac.za/main/explore-uct/awards/fellows</u>). The UCT College of Fellows meets quarterly and has one annual event to welcome new members and recognise UCT researchers awarded the College of Fellows Young Researcher awards.

The University of Cape Town College of Fellows wishes to make known the following:

- There is robust scientific evidence that vaccination against SARS-CoV-2 is highly effective in preventing severe COVID-19 and COVID-19 related deaths. Vaccination also reduces milder COVID-19 infections and SARS-CoV-2 transmission. Data from many trials and observational studies demonstrates that the benefits of vaccination far outweigh potential risks of very rare severe side effects.
- The College of Fellows supports calls for a requirement that all staff and students of UCT provide acceptable proof of having been vaccinated against SARS-CoV-2, before engaging in in-person group activities. Such face-to-face group interaction is an essential component of the academic project allowing the university to achieve its full potential. Given the likelihood of the pandemic continuing into 2022, a responsible return to normal academic activity will only be possible if all staff and students are vaccinated.
- The College of Fellows is planning to hold its annual event in November 2021. It has been agreed that all those who attend must provide proof of vaccination. Other COVID-19 prevention measures will also be in place; this includes the event being held outdoors, wearing of masks and regular sanitizing. We have implemented all these measures for the event because each individual measure contributes, when applied in combination, to reducing the risk of transmission to a low enough level that makes it acceptable to resume such a gathering.
- The College calls on all members of the University community to promote a commitment to universal vaccination, through carefully-crafted public health messaging in the case of the Executive, and awareness-raising whenever possible by both the Fellows and all members of the university community. Concerns that fellow citizens have about vaccination should be addressed with respect and empathy and informed by the best scientific evidence regarding SARS-CoV-2 vaccination.

Yours sincerely

halcer

#### **Professor MAMOKGETHI PHAKENG** Vice-Chancellor and Chairperson of the College of Fellows, on behalf of the College of Fellows, UCT.

Copies: A/Professor L Lange, DVC – Teaching and Learning Professor S Harrison, DVC – Research and Internationalisation Emeritus Professor M Hall, DVC – Transformation (Acting)

College of Fellows:

Professor Jane Alexander - Michaelis School of Fine Art Emeritus Professor Mark Alexander - Civil Engineering Professor Igor Barashenkov - Mathematics and Applied Maths Professor Karen Barnes - Clinical Pharmacology Professor Linda- Gail Bekker - Desmond Tutu HIV Centre Emeritus Professor Solomon Benatar - Medicine Professor Haroon Bhorat - Economics Professor Jonathan Blackburn - Infectious Disease & Molecular Medicine Professor Susan Bourne - Chemistry Emeritus Professor George Branch - Biological Sciences Professor Frank Brombacher - Pathology Emeritus Professor Douglas Butterworth - Mathematics and Applied Maths Emeritus Professor Mino Caira - Chemistry Professor Kelly Chibale - Chemistry Emeritus Professor David Chidester - Religious Studies Professor Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan - Zoology Professor Malcolm Collins - Human Biology Emeritus Professor Hugh Corder - Public Law Professor Keertan Dheda - Pulmonology Emeritus Professor Cesareo Dominguez - Physics Emeritus Professor Robert Dorrington - School of Management Studies Professor Peter Dunsby - Mathematics & Applied Maths Professor Timothy Egan - Chemistry Emeritus Professor George Ekama - Civil Engineering Emeritus Professor George Ellis - Mathematics & Applied Maths Professor Johan Fagan - Division of Otorhinolaryngology Professor Jill Farrant - Molecular & Cell Biology Professor Mark Fleishman - Centre for Theatre, Dance & Performance Professor Lucy Gilson - Division of Health Policy & Systems Emeritus Professor Charles Griffiths - Biological Sciences Emeritus Professor Martin Hall - Archaeology Professor Susan Harrison - Chemical Engineering Professor Bruce Hewitson - Environmental & Geographical Science Emeritus Professor John Higgins - English Language & Literature Emeritus Professor Gregory Hussey - Health Sciences Professor George Janelidze - Mathematics and Applied Maths Emeritus Professor Renee Kraan-Korteweg - Astronomy Professor Mike Lambert - Exercise Science & Sports Medicine Professor Vicki Lambert - Human Biology Professor Murray Leibbrandt - Economics Professor NAomi Levitt - Endocrinology & Diabetology Professor Alison Lewis - Chemical Engineering Professor Crick Lund - Psychiatry & Mental Health Professor Gary Maartens - Clinical Pharmacology Professor Aubrey Mainza - Chemical Engineering Emeritus Professor Michael Meadows - Environmental and Geographic Science Professor Graeme Meintjes - Medicine Professor Peter Meissner - Integrative Biomedical Sciences Emeritus Professor Robert Millar - Biochemistry & Structural Biology Professor Valerie Mizrahi - Infectious Disease & Molecular Medicine

> "Our mission is to be an outstanding teaching and research university, educating for life and addressing the challenges facing our society."

Emeritus Professor Vincent Moran - Weed BIO Control Unit Professor Nicola Mulder - Computational Biology Professor Landon Myer - Public Health and Family Medicine Emeritus Professor Luigi Nassimbeni - Chemistry Emeritus Professor Gerald Nurick - Mechanical Engineering Emeritus Professor Cyril O'Connor - Centre for Minerals Research Emeritus Professor John Parkington - Archaeology Professor Edgar Pieterse - African Centre for Cities Professor Raj Ramesar - Human Genetics Professor Chris Reason - Oceanography Emeritus Professor Daya Reddy - Mathematics and Applied Mathematics Emeritus Professor Allen Rodgers - Chemistry Professor Don Ross - Economics Professor Peter Ryan - P.F.I.A. Ornithology Professor Edward Rybicki - Infectious Disease & Molecular Medicine Distinguished Professor Philippe-Joseph Salazar - Private Law Professor Judith Sealy - Archaeology Emeritus Professor Clifford Shearing - Public Law Professor Pippa Skotnes - Michaelis School of Fine Art Professor Mark Solms - Psychology Professor Dan Stein - Psychiatry & Mental Health Emeritus Professor Theodor Stewart -Statistical Sciences Professor Edward Sturrock - Integrative Biomedical Sciences Emeritus Professor Les Underhill - Biological Sciences Professor Eric Van Steen - Chemical Engineering Emeritus Professor Brian Warner - Astronomy Professor Anna-Lise Williamson - Virology Professor Carolyn Williamson - Pathology Emeritus Professor Robin Wood - Desmond Tutu HIV Centre Professor Heather Zar - Paediatrics & Child Health Professor Peter Zilla - Cardiothoracic Surgery Professor Alphose Zingoni - Civil Engineering