## COUNCIL ON HIGHER EDUCATION



1 Quintin Brand Street, Persequor Technopark, Tshwane P O Box 94, Technopark, 0020 South Africa Website: http://www.che.ac.za Tel: +27 12 349 3861; Email: Ceo@che.ac.za

30 July 2018

Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng Vice-Chancellor and Principal University of Cape Town Private Bag X3 RONDEBOSCH 7701

E-mail: amanda.botha@uct.ac.za

Dear Prof Phakeng,

## CONDOLENCES – Prof Bongani Mayosi

On behalf of the Council on Higher Education (CHE), I wish to convey our deepest sympathies to the University of Cape Town (UCT) and to the Mayosi family on the untimely loss of Professor Bongani Mayosi, one of our leading and most highly accomplished scholars.

As a leader, prolific scholar, and compassionate human being, he has few peers. His loss is enormous and quite possibly incalculable, given the strides he made in his field, the recognition he achieved locally and globally, and the wonderful role model he was for legions of youth in our society.

We extend our condolences to the entire University community, his family, friends and colleagues, for the pain of this loss is that much more poignant to lose someone with so much more to give even though he had achieved such heights in his career and scholarship at a relatively young age.

He will be sorely missed by many.

Yours sincerely

Professor N Themba Mosia CHAIRPERSON

The CHE is an independent statutory body established by the Higher Education Act, no. 101 of 1997. As the Quality Council for Higher Education it advises the Minister of Higher Education and Training on all higher education issues and is responsible for quality assurance and promotion through the Higher Education Quality Committee.

Council Members: Prof N. Themba Mosia (Chairperson) Mr Luzuko Buku, Prof Chris de Beer, Prof André Keet, Mr Cassie Kruger, Dr Bandile Masuku, Dr Siphokazi Moeng, Prof Shireen Motala, Ms Nombulelo Nxesi, Dr Kimberley Porteus, Prof Selby Ripinga, Prof Beverley Thaver, Dr Mvuyo Tom, Prof Mala Singh, Prof Sophie Mogotlane, Prof John Mubangizi, Dr Thomas Auf Der Heyde, Dr Sagren Govender, Mr Suren Govender, Ms Joyce Mashabela, Dr Diane Parker, Dr Mafu Rakometsi, Dr Molapo Qhobela; Prof Narend Baijnath (CEO).