

Communication and Marketing Department Isebe loThungelwano neNtengiso Kommunikasie en Bemarkingsdepartement

Private Bag X3, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa Welgelegen House, Chapel Road Extension, Rosebank, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 650 5427/5428/5674 Fax: +27 (0) 21 650 5628

www.uct.ac.za

29 May 2023

UCT academics named amongst the cream of South African "Science Oscars"

Twelve University of Cape Town (UCT) academics have been selected as finalists in multiple categories in the 2022/2023 <u>NSTF-South32 Awards</u> – testament to their groundbreaking work in the fields of science, engineering and technology (SET) nationally and abroad.

The National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards are the largest and most prestigious SET research awards in South Africa and are held annually in partnership with mining and metals company South32. The awards celebrate the work of esteemed scientists advancing the sustainable socio-economic growth of the nation and improving the quality of life for all South Africans.

Being selected as a finalist for South Africa's "Science Oscars" is no mean feat considering the pool of extraordinarily talented scientists and the number of nominations the NSTF receives every year.

This year's winners will be announced at an awards ceremony taking place on 13 July, under the banner, "Ocean sciences for sustainable development", in response to the United Nations' decade-long theme.

The UCT finalists are:

Lifetime Award:

- Emeritus Professor Clive Gray Professor of Immunology in the Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS)
- Professor Juliet Hermes Department of Oceanography in the Faculty of Science

TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Emerging Researcher:

- Dr Rachael Dangarembizi senior lecturer in the Department of Human Biology and Neuroscience Institute in the FHS
- Dr Mubeen Goolam lecturer in the Department of Human Biology in the FHS
- Dr Daniel Ramotsoela senior lecturer in the Department of Electrical Engineering in the Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment (EBE)

Management Award:

• Professor Isabelle Ansorge – head of the Department of Oceanography in the Faculty of Science

Engineering Research Capacity Development Award:

 Associate Professor Denis Kalumba – director of the Geotechnical Research Laboratory and of postgraduate studies in the Department of Civil Engineering in EBE

NSTF Water Research Commission Award:

 Associate Professor Kirsty Carden – interim director of the Future Water Research Institute

NSTF-SAMRC Clinician-Scientist Award:

• Professor Salome Maswime – head of Global Surgery in the FHS

Green Economy Award:

• Professor Rachel Wynberg – Department of Environmental and Geographical Science in the Faculty of Science

Data for Research Award:

- Professor Karen Barnes Division of Clinical Pharmacology in the Department of Medicine in the FHS
- Inter-University Institute for Data Intensive Astronomy a partnership between UCT, the University of the Western Cape and the University of Pretoria

Communication Award:

 South African Child Gauge: Lori Lake – communication and education specialist, Children's Institute

Special Annual Theme Award:

 Professor Isabelle Ansorge – head of the Department of Oceanography in the Faculty of Science

Ends

Issued by: UCT Communication and Marketing Department

Thami Nkwanyane

Media Liaison and Monitoring Officer Communication and Marketing Department University of Cape Town Rondebosch Tel: (021) 650 5672 Cell: 063 366 3993 / 072 563 9500 Email: <u>thami.nkwanyane@uct.ac.za</u> Website: <u>www.uct.ac.za</u>