

Communication and Marketing Department Isebe IoThungelwano neNtengiso Kommunikasie en Bemarkingsdepartement

Private Bag X3, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa Welgelegen House, Chapel Road Extension, Rosebank, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 650 5427/5428/5674 Fax: +27 (0) 21 650 5628

www.uct.ac.za

13 July 2020

UCT Council elects female chair and deputy

For the first time in the University of Cape Town's history, the two key roles of chair of Council and deputy chair will be simultaneously occupied by women.

This followed the election of Ms Babalwa Ngonyama as the new chair of Council and Ms Nazeema Mohamed as deputy at the first Council meeting of the 2020/2024 term held on Saturday, 11 July 2020.

It is for the first time that UCT has a female chair of Council.

The election of Ms Ngonyama as chair also means that the university now has women leaders at the helm in the crucial governance, ceremonial and executive roles, with the latter two being the chancellor, Dr Precious Moloi-Motsepe and the vice-chancellor, Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng.

The new Council officially started its term on 1 July 2020 and will be in office until 30 June 2024.

UCT congratulates both Ms Ngonyama and Ms Mohamed for their election and wishes them all the best as they carry out, over the next four years, the task of leading a collective that is responsible for steering the institution at a governance level.

Council also elected the chairs of its main committees and appointed members to these. Four of these six committees will be chaired by women.

The chairs are as follows:

- Honorary Degrees Committee: Ms Sheila Barsel
- Naming of Buildings Committee: Mr Malcolm Campbell
- University Audit and Risk Committee: Ms Tshidi Mokgabudi
- University Buildings & Development Committee: Mr Malcolm Campbell
- University Finance Committee: Ms Zama Khanyile

University Human Resources Committee: Ms Pheladi Gwangwa

Council's Executive Committee (EXCO) is composed of the chair and deputy chair of Council, the vice-chancellor, one of the Senate-elected members of Council, one of the student members of Council and three other members of Council, one of whom must be the chair of the University Finance Committee.

The EXCO membership has been confirmed as comprising Ms Ngonyama, Ms Mohamed, Professor Phakeng, Professor Ntobeko Ntusi (Senate-elected Council member), Mr Sihle Lonzi (student member), Ms Khanyile (chair of the University Finance Committee) as well as Ms Barsel and Ms Dianna Yach as Council members.

The UCT executive is looking forward to working closely with the new Council and has no doubt that all the members bring a diverse range of expertise and experience that will serve UCT well through the four-year term.

• See the full Council membership for the 2020/2024 term.

ENDS

Issued by: UCT Communication and Marketing Department

Elijah Moholola

Senior Manager: Media Liaison and Social Media Communication and Marketing Department University of Cape Town Rondebosch Tel: 021 650 5674

Tel: 021 650 5674 Cell: 083 981 7770

Email: elijah.moholola@uct.ac.za
Website: www.uct.ac.za