

Communication and Marketing Department Isebe IoThungelwano neNtengiso Kommunikasie en Bemarkingsdepartement

Private Bag X3, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa Welgelegen House, Chapel Road Extension, Rosebank, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 650 5427/5428/5674 Fax: +27 (0) 21 650 5628

www.uct.ac.za

### 31 March 2017

## Corruption is an Enemy of the Poor

# Statement by academics on the firing of Minister Gordhan and Deputy Minister Jonas

"Corruption and hypocrisy ought not to be inevitable products of democracy, as they undoubtedly are today."- Mahatma Gandhi

We, the undersigned academics, note with dismay and deep concern the decision by the President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr Jacob Zuma, on March 30th, 2017 to remove the Minister and Deputy Minister of Finance – Mr Pravin Gordhan and Mr Mcebisi Jonas – from their positions. Both Minister Gordhan and Deputy Minister Jonas have been a model of integrity and good governance in managing the economy's fiscal affairs – and in particular in ensuring that the country's common resource, namely its variety of state-owned institutions, are managed effectively.

We the undersigned, believe that the removal of the political leadership of the National Treasury is a clear attempt at undermining the integrity of Treasury and its quest for clean governance. Research in developing countries around the world has consistently found that corruption and the failure to protect the independence and integrity of a country's institutions, can and will be bad for economic growth, poverty reduction and the battle against inequality. Ultimately, the attempt to actively pursue an agenda of corrupt governance will be the enemy of the poor and only serve to fuel rising income inequality in the society. Bad governance and corruption by definition benefits only a few individuals and selected firms. Through this act of removing the Minister and Deputy Minister of Finance, there is now an active and open path to undermining state institutions with a view to gains for a select few.

As senior academics in South Africa, we call on the leadership of the country, and in particular members of the Cabinet, the NEC of the ANC and Parliament, to put an end to this breathtaking act of political opportunism and arrogance – manifest in a clear attempt at gaining hold and control of those parts of government, which if corrupted, will only serve to benefit a small minority of individuals at the expense of the poor and marginalized in our society.

Signatories (alphabetical):

Matt Andrews Keith Breckenridge Haroon Bhorat Anthony Black Derick Blaauw Willem Boshoff Ilse Botha **Daniel Bradlow** Cobus Burger Philippe Burger Ronelle Burger Rulof Burger **Justine Burns** Le Roux Burrows Mbongiseni Buthele Marianne Camerer Daniela Casale Nico Cloete David Coldwell Kenneth Creamer Pierre de Villiers Hassan Essop Johan Fourie **David Francis** Steven Friedman

Shireen Hassim Alan Hirsch Faizel Ismail Toughedah Jacobs David Kaplan Safia Khan Johan Kirsten Jonathan Klaaren Steven Koch Uma Kollamparambil Brian Levy Adaiah Lilenstein Elsabe Loots Neva Seidman Makgetla Sarah Marriott Elias Masilela Julian May Robert Morrell Mike Morris Eldridge Moses Liezl Nieuwoudt Stella Nkomo Sibulele Nkunzi Morne Oosthuizen Vishnu Padayachee

Edgar Pieterse

Dori Posel

Vimal Ranchhod Monique Reid **Gareth Roberts** Jannie Rossouw Andrea Saavman Suzanne Sackstein Ayesha Sayed Andrie Schoombee Krige Siebrits Anja Smith Linda Spark Nicholas Spaull Ben Stanwix Mark Swilling Chris Tapscott Amy Thornton Imraan Valodia Servaas Van der Berg Kirsten van der Zee Melt van Schoor Corne Van Walbeek

Nicola Viegi

Dieter von Fintel

Martin Wittenberg

Gabrielle Wills

**Ingrid Woolard** 

**ENDS** 

### Issued by: UCT Communication and Marketing Department

### Elijah Moholola

Alison Gillwald

Pippa Green

Head: Media Liaison Communication and Marketing Department University of Cape Town Rondebosch

Rondebosch Tel: (021) 650 5674 Fax: (021) 650 3780 Cell: (083) 981 7770

Email: <u>elijah.moholola@uct.ac.za</u> Website: <u>www.uct.ac.za</u>