

Communication and Marketing Department Isebe loThungelwano neNtengiso Kommunikasie en Bemarkingsdepartement

Private Bag X3, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa La Grotto House, Glendarrach Rd, Rondebosch, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 650-3733/2, Fax: +27 (0) 21 650-5682 Internet: www.uct.ac.za

27 May 2011

## Three UCT academics victorious at

## 2011 NSTF-BHP Billiton awards

Three out of six University of Cape Town (UCT) finalists walked away with top honours during the annual National Science and Technology Forum-BHP Billiton Awards, held in Johannesburg last night (26 May).

Professor Lionel Opie, Emeritus Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and founding director of UCT's Hatter Institute for Cardiology Research, was victorious in the Individual over a Lifetime category. He was hailed "for a lifetime contribution to the improved understanding of the causes of heart attacks and the more effective use of medication for heart disease".

Professor Kelly Chibale, SARChI Professor in Drug Discovery in the Department of Chemistry, won the TW Kambule Award for a Senior Black Male Researcher over the past 5-10 years. Professor Chibale, director of the recently launched Drug Discovery and Development Centre at UCT, was cited for his significant contributions to research capacity and skills development in several key areas critical to the discovery of modern pharmaceutical medicines.

Dr Mohamed Azeem Khan: Senior lecturer in the Department of Electrical Engineering, received the TW Kambule Award for a Distinguished Young Black Male Researcher over the last 2-5 years. Dr Khan was recognised for his contribution towards the understanding of industrial efficiency and the design of small wind generator and energy storage systems.

"The University of Cape Town is very proud that our researchers are recognised for the excellent work they do. The awards confirm the high calibre of the UCT staff and the significant impact their work makes in society," said Gerda Kruger, Executive Director: Communication and Marketing at the University of Cape Town.

"We congratulate the winners and recognise the accomplishments of the other finalists, namely Professor Jill Farrant of the Department of Molecular Cell Biology, Associate Professor Nonhlanhla Khumalo of the Division of Dermatology at Groote Schuur Hospital and Red Cross Children's Hospital, and Department of Chemical Engineering's Professor Michael Claeys who led the UCT - SASOL Study Team on Cobalt Fischer-Tropsch."

## **Issued by UCT: Communication and Marketing Department**

## Ms Linda Rulashe

Communications and Media Manager University of Cape Town La Grotto House, Glendarrach Road Rondebosch

Tel: (021) 650 5674 Fax (021) 650 5628

Cell: 083 285 6576

E-mail: <a href="mailto:linda.rulashe@uct.ac.za">linda.rulashe@uct.ac.za</a>

Website: www.uct.ac.za